Doll-E 1.0

follow US

*List Price:

$17.99

Screen Shot 2021-01-22 at 12.09.52 PM.jp
2.jpg

Is this book about a real woman in STEAM?

A STEM-friendly tale of a girl and the doll she upgrades to be her new friend, for fans of The Most Magnificent Thing and Rosie Revere, Engineer.

Charlotte's world is fully charged! With her dog at her side, she's always tinkering, coding, clicking, and downloading. She's got a knack for anything technological--especially gadgets that her parents don't know how to fix! Then, she receives a new toy that is quite a puzzle: a doll! What's she supposed to do with that? Once she discovers the doll's hidden battery pack, things start to get interesting...while her faithful canine sidekick wonders if he'll be overshadowed by the new and improved Doll-E 1.0! With a little ingenuity and an open mind, everyone can be friends in this endearing, modern tribute to the creative spirit of play.

Screen Shot 2021-01-22 at 12.09.52 PM.jp

Author:

Shanda McCloskey

Illustrator:

Shanda McCloskey

Publisher:

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Recommended Ages:

4 - 8 years

No

Girls Love STEAM Review:

Additional Reader & Professional Reviews:

"An enjoyable romp for readers, whether they're plugged in or not."
--Booklist

"Charlotte is an engaging character, expressive and thoughtful in equal measure ... An engaging story, arguing for the marriage of technology with creativity and play."
-- Kirkus

"Doll-E 1.0" is a vigorous, witty and valuable addition to the still too-small shelf of books about girls and engineering."
-- New York Times Book Review

"McCloskey finds the sweet spot between respect for a child's nerdy passion and the need to connect tinkering with life. There's plenty to amuse both kid and adult readers in the robust cartoon artwork ... This should elicit both giggles and discussion--a coup for McCloskey's picture book debut."
-- The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Her pencil and watercolor cartoons have a fetching exuberance, and the bespectacled, brainy Charlotte, who never doubts her talents, is an admirable whirlwind of energy and ideas."
-- Publisher's Weekly

*Store prices may vary.

Want to add your own review?  

Click our survey links below and let us know what you think of this book!

For ages 12 and under

Parent Permission Required

For ages 13-17

For ages 18 & Above

GirlsLoveSTEAM@icloud.com

Carlsbad, California, USA

© 2021 by Girls Love STEAM  

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon

Excuse our dust as we update our website.