Cece Loves Science - Book 1

follow US

*List Price:

$7.99

Screen Shot 2021-01-22 at 12.09.52 PM.jp
2.jpg

Is this book about a real woman in STEAM?

Cece loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, Cece asks one of life’s most pressing questions: Do dogs eat vegetables? Cece and her best friend, Isaac, head to the lab to find out.

This picture book is perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist, and anyone who enjoys asking questions.

Cece’s parents say she was born curious. She asks: Why? How? What if? When her teacher, Ms. Curie, assigns a science project, Cece knows just what to ask—do dogs eat vegetables? She teams up with her best friend, Isaac, and her dog, Einstein, to discover the answer. They investigate, research, collect data, and analyze, using Einstein as their case study. Their final conclusion is surprising, and a lot of fun!

Illustrated by Vashti Harrison, whose Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History is a New York Times bestseller and an NAACP Image Award winner. Cece Loves Science is just right for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer and What Do You Do with an Idea?, and for anyone who loves to learn.

Screen Shot 2021-01-22 at 12.09.52 PM.jp
Screen Shot 2021-01-22 at 12.09.52 PM.jp
Screen Shot 2021-01-22 at 12.09.52 PM.jp

Author:

Kimberly Derting and Shelli R. Johannes

Illustrator:

Vashti Harrison

Publisher:

Greenwillow Books

Recommended Ages:

5 - 9 years

Ethnic

No

Sylvia Acevedo.jpg

Girls Love STEAM Review:

Date of Review – 11/12/2020

What part of STEAM does this book address?
Science – hypothesis development and experiment process.

Would this book inspire girls to explore STEAM further?
Yes, it would inspire girls to ask questions…be curious

Any craft or activity associated within this book?
No

What did you like about the book?
How the author used the family dog as the source of the hypothesis (everyday life).

One concern I had was that they did not discuss that dogs can’t eat all food items and that it could be dangerous for the dog if they tried some items like onions, garlic, wild mushrooms, avocado and rhubarb (known to be poisonous to dogs). If someone decided to try this experiment at home after reading the book, this could be a problem and potentially be dangerous to their pets if they chose the wrong food item.

Additional Reader & Professional Reviews:

No Reader Reviews have been received yet. Want to be the first reviewer? See our survey links below!

*Store prices may vary.

Want to add your own review?  

Click our survey links below and let us know what you think of this book!

For ages 12 and under

Parent Permission Required

For ages 13-17

For ages 18 & Above